University of Minnesota
Institute of Technology
myU OneStop

College of ECE on Facebook College of ECE on Twitter

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Building with flowers  200 Union Street SE,
  4-174 Keller Hall
  Minneapolis, MN 55455-0170
  Phone: 612-625-3300

Welcome from Department Head David J. Lilja
The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is committed
to educating the
 future work force and to conducting research with
collaborators from industry and government.


Faculty and Other Job Openings



ECE Team KPZZ finishes 7th in American
Epilepsy Society Seizure Prediction Challenge

Keshab Parhi 2013

 Zisheng Shang

  Prof. Keshab Parhi ( top left) and Ph.D.
  candidate Zisheng Zhang (bottom left)
  ranked 7th out of 506 entries in the
  International Seizure Prediction Challenge
  hosted by Kaggle. Sponsored by the American
  Epilepsy Society, the contest was organized by
  UPenn and the Mayo Clinic.

  To review final standings, click here.
  For details of the competition, click here.



Prof. Beth Stadler named IEEE Magnetics
Society Distinguished Lecturer

Beth Stadler 2013  Prof. Beth Stadler has been named a
  2015 IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished
  Lecturer. Speakers were chosen on the 
  basis of international repution for excellence
  in their respective fields, speaking acumen,
  and the widespread interest within the greater
  magnetics community of their proposed
  lecture topics.


Dr. Vasileios Kekatos receives honorable mention
in 2014 Post-Doctoral Series

Vasileios Kekatos  Dr. Vasileios Kekatos received a Postdoctoral Career Development Honorable Mention in the U of MN 2014 Post-Doctoral Association Award Services Series. (Prof. Randall Victora, advisor)


Ph.D student Lucas Taylor receives DEPS
Graduate Scholarship

Lucas Taylor  ECE Ph.D. student Lucas Taylor received the
  2014-2015 Directed Energy Professional
  Society Graduate Scholarship. He was one
  of eight students nationwide to receive a
  $10,000 award for studies in high energy
  lasers and high power microwaves.
  (Prof. Joseph Talghader, advisor)


Ph.D. student Kartik Iyer receives Best Session
Presentation Award

Kartik Iyer  ECE Ph.D. student Kartik Iyer received the IEEE
  IECON 2014 Best Session Presentation Award
  at the Conference in Dallas, Tex. His paper is
  titled “Multi-level Converter to Interface Low
  Voltage DC to 3-Phase High Voltage Grid with
  Medium Frequency Transformer Isolation.”
  (Prof. Ned Mohan, advisor)


Prof. Wang and the Gold Gopher Magnetic Biosensing Team
Selected one of five Distinguished Award Prize winners

 Wang and Klein Nokia Sesing Challenge

A team from the University of Minnesota led by Prof. Jian-Ping Wang
has been selected as one of five Distinguished Award Prize winners,
valued at $120,000, in the Nokia Sensing XCHALLENGE, a global
competition to develop breakthrough medical sensing technologies
that will ultimately enable faster diagnoses and easier personal
health monitoring.

The Golden Gopher Magnetic Biosensing Team has developed a
handheld device, named “z-Lab,” designed to detect various ailments
using disease indicators, or “biomarkers,” found in bodily fluids at
the earliest stages of the disease, often when symptoms are not
even present. A  drop of fluid is placed on a small biochip
(~10 millimeters by 10 millimeters) and results of up to 10 health
indicators are displayed within 15 minutes on a smartphone,
tablet or other mobile device. The sensor can also be used for
monitoring other factors that can impact one’s health, such as
the mercury concentration in water.

“The high sensitivity of this device allows it to detect various ailments
—including infections, heart disease and even cancer—faster, easier
and earlier than ever before,” said Golden Gopher Magnetic
Biosensing Team Leader Jian-Ping Wang, an electrical and
computer engineering professor at the University of Minnesota’s
College of Science and Engineering. “We see this as a prevention
-based device that will ultimately save lives.”

The Team includes professors and students from the University
of Minnesota, doctors from the Mayo Clinic and engineers from
several corporate partners, including Zepto Life Technology a
University startup company who is commercializing this technology. 

Details refer to

Media Coverage Links:
KARE - 11
Bring Me the News

Ph.D. candidate Huan Li is featured in Nature Nanotechnology


  Ph.D. Candidate Huan Li is
  featured in Nature Nanotech-
  nology, the premier journal
  on nanotechnology.
  (Prof. Mo Li, advisor)
  To read more, click here.


News Archives

CSE SHOP: Now Offering 3-D Printing
The CSE Shop designs, fabricates, welds, and repairs prototypes
and scientific research equipment. The shop also provides 3D printing
services, Customers can visit the shop or send drawings for estimates

THE CSE SHOP has two locations: Tate Lab, Physics Room 30 and
Mechanical Engineering , Room 2-134.

More information about the CSE Shop equipment, 3D printer, hourly rates,
and exmaples of shop work cab be found at the CSE SHOP Web Site

University of Minnesota CSE Machine Shop, Physics
116 Church Street SE, Room 30,
Minneapolis, MN 55455.
Jon Kilgore - Managing Research Engineer - kilgo001 at - (612) 624-4328
Ron Bystrom -Shop Foreman - email bystrom002 at, - (612) 624-7048
Fax (612) 624-4578

University of Minnesota CSE Shop, ME
111Church St SE, Room 2-134 ME
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Mike Jensen - Managing Research Engineer - mjjensen at - (612)-625-2062
Bob Jones - Shop Foreman- jones018 at - (612) 625-0549




2014 Fall ECE Colloquium Schedule 

Past Colloquium presenters  
College of Science and Engineering
                  Fall 2014

Math & Science Family Fun Fair  
Date: Saturday, Nov. 22, 2014
Time: 10 a.m.–4 p.m.
Location: Coffman Memorial Union

Information and Resources

  • Keller Hall Hours:
    Main doors 
         7:00 a.m. - 6:00 pm  Mon. – Fri.
         8:00 a.m. - 6:00 pm  Saturday
         9:00 a.m. - 6:00 pm  Sunday
    Union and Church St. entrance
         7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Mon. – Fri.;
         Closed weekends
    Administrative office
         8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Mon. – Fri.
         Closed weekends
    Annex entrance
         7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Mon. – Fri.
         Closed weekends